search X
What's your question?Ask us nowAsk us nowVISIT US

Share

Q:

What kind of gelatin is in strawberry frosted Pop-Tarts?

A:

Gelatin is used to help the texture of the product and is derived from either beef or pork.

Gelatin derived from pork is found in the following Kellogg products in the U.S.:

  • Kellogg's® cereal products that contain marshmallow additives (Kellogg's® Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal)
  • All varieties of Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats® Squares

 

Gelatin derived from beef is found in the following products in the U.S.:

  • All varieties of Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts®
  • All varieties of Kellogg's® Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal
  • All varieties of Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats™ cereal

 

Some of our U.S. foods contain gelatin that is derived from either beef or pork; sourcing is based on availability in the marketplace. These include:

  • All Kellogg's® fruit flavored snacks
  • All Kellogg's® Krave Treat Bars

 

So, the gelatin used in Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® Frosted Strawberry is from beef.

Please note that none of our equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts® is used in the production of the other pastries. As a result, Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin. The pre-gelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.

 

This information applies to products sold in the United States.  Products in other countries may have different ingredients or nutrition information.